Athena Awards

The Athena Award is presented at the annual Celebrate Success gala to womxn in our community who, like the Greek goddess Athena, model wisdom, courage, strength and are an inspiration to the womxn we serve and to the community at large. The Athena Award winners are womxn who know that we are all connected and, that what we do for "one," we do for all.

2021 Honorees

Click on a headshot below to read more about these inspiring leaders.


Rep. Dacia Grayber

District 35

Oregon House of Representatives

Sonja McKenzie2.jpeg

Sonja McKenzie


Parkrose School Board

Traci Ray.jpeg

Traci Ray

Executive Director

Barran Liebman LLP

Carmen Rubio.jpeg

Commissioner Carmen Rubio

City of Portland

Past Honorees


Rep. Teresa Alonso Leon, Oregon House of Representatives

Fire Chief Sara Boone, Portland Fire & Rescue

Paula Hayes, Founder & President of Hue Noir

Cindy Larson, Former Co-Chair of the DFSO Board of Directors

Emma Mcilroy, Co-Founder & CEO of Wildfang


Gov. Kate Brown, Governor of Oregon

Dr. Nathalie Johnson, Legacy Health Surgical Oncologist

Sadie Lincoln, Co-Founder & CEO of Barre3

Peggy Miller, CEO of PacStar


Graciela Gomez Cowger, Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt

Rep. Janelle Bynum, Oregon House of Representatives

Justice Adrienne Nelson, Oregon Supreme Court

Monique Barton, Bank of America


Kathy Larson, The Larson Legacy

Loretta Mabinton, Portland General Electric

Commissioner Loretta Smith, Multnomah County

Michelle Weisenbach, Key Bank


Peggy Maguire, Cambia Health Solutions

Serena Stoudamire Wesley, Office of the Governor

Carrie Hinton, Portland Monthly

Cherrie Scheinberg, SAM Medical

Tracy Curtis, Wells Fargo